Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 Review

10/01/2015 - 00:16
Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180. Review




Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 a fast telephoto lens for medium-format cameras. This lens can be safely called a legend. First Sonnar 2.8/180 was released specially for the Olympics 1936 in Berlin. The name comes from the German word «Sonne» means the sun.

Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 optical design

Optical design is the 5 elements in 3 groups. Initially, the design Sonnar was developed in order to create a compact fast lens, smaller in size than the Planar. Designers have turned out or not, it does not matter now. But what gave the world the firm Zeiss Sonnar lens with excellent artistic qualities, it is a fact. Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 was issued more than half a century, with a practically unchangeable optical design.

There are 5 versions of this lens:
The first version, the Olympia Sonnar. It produced since 1936 and is expected before the end of the WW2. There are even versions of the lens for rangefinder cameras, despite such a large focal length.

The second version of the lens. About 1950-60 years. There was a significantly redesigned the barrel. There was a single layer coating.

The third version. About 1960-70 years. It has a new barrel design "zebra", and 18 aperture blades.

The fourth version. About 1970-75 years. Significantly reworked barrel design, 6 aperture blades.

The fifth version. After 1975. Almost no different from version 4. Add multi-coating only and letters «MC» in the title. Here are the version released in the DDR (Carl Zeiss Jena DDR).

In West Germany, also produces lenses with the name Carl Zeiss Sonnar 2.8/180 for bayonet C/Y. But in these lenses, despite the name, using a different optical design, and they are designed for 35mm film format. And accordingly, have a smaller size.

Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180

So let us return to our copy. This lens was manufactured for the camera system Pentacon Six. It refers to the fourth version, according to the above classification. And it has a single coating. It can be mounted on any camera using an appropriate adapter. I mounted it on a Nikon using Soviet KP6/H adapter (Pentacon Six - Nikon analog).

 

Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 Specifications

Focal length: 180mm

Aperture: f/ 2,8 - f/ 32

Weight (gr): 1350

Length (mm): 120

Filter Ø (mm.): 86

Aperture blades: 6

Min. focus distance (m.): 1.7

 

Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 Mechanics and Handling

The lens has a huge size and the camera looks unusual and attracts attention. Due to the large diameter of the front lens, it seems short, in fact, together with the adapter is normal to telephoto

length.

Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180

Ahead is the rubberized focus ring and has a width of about 3 cm. At MFD, the front of the lens is extended by 2 cm. The front element is not rotating. The aperture ring is placed. It is metallic. There is also a switch A/M, to switch between auto and manual aperture control. On the barrel is the ring there is tripod mount. The lens has a 6 aperture blades, which glisten in the sun.

Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180

Also included is a huge lens hood and cap.

 

Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 Example Photos

All examples are taken on Nikon D3100. RAW export, no post-processing.

 

Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 Sharpness

At wide-open, the lens has good sharpness for such a focal length and aperture. It seemed to me that at short distances sharpness better.

Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 Sample Photos

For portraits, sharpness enough. If may seem that the weak sharpness, it is most likely associated with a very narrow depth of field on this focal length, and as a result misses to focus.

Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 Sample Photos

In certain scenes, at wide-open, you can watch the chromatic aberration.

Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 Sample Photos

Of course, when you close the aperture increases the sharpness and depth of field as well.

 

Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 Character and Bokeh

The Nice character is probably the strongest side of the lens. Photos obtained voluminous, airy.

Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 Sample Photos

The lens is intended primarily for shooting portraits. and the task it copes by 100%.

Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 Sample Photos

If you shoot facial portraits and busts, get the best background blur, and in certain scenes, you can get a wonderful bokeh.

Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 Sample Photos

Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 Sample Photos

Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 Sample Photos

However, for growth portraits of the lens good separates the background from the object.

Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 Sample PhotosCarl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 Sample Photos

 

Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 Color Render and Contrast

The lens has a good contrast. I did not even use its huge hood.

Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 Sample Photos

Colors saturated, rich, and at the same time natural.

Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 Sample Photos

On the strong backlit contrast falls. In general, the lens is resistant to the backlight.

 Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 Sample Photos

 

Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 Sample Photos

 

Summary

Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 is a great portrait lens. The optical quality is good. Confused, perhaps, only its size and weight.

Carl Zeiss Jena DDR Sonnar 2.8/180 Sample Photos





Jonathan's picture
Hi, Really like the review you put here. I just got the same lens (I think it should be the fifth edition because it got MC letter in its title). I am a Canon shooter and I have 70D and several 600D, and I tried to use it without the adapter and I was blown away by its image quality and the bokeh it creates. This lens really shine, mine is broken the aperture ring, so I can only shoot in wide open, f/2.8. I was wondering if you can help me find the adapter for EF/EF-S cameras, so that I can start shooting video with this lens.
Olivier's picture
Here is a Pentacon 6 to EOS mount adapter: http://www.amazon.com/Concept-Pentacon-Canon-Mount-Adapter/dp/B00LECY0KY
Otakar Šulc's picture
Your aperture ring is most probably don't broken. I get it it's not working but the reason is probably old grease on aperture. Take it to same servis. They take the old grease from aperture and aply new one and it will be working like a new.
Allan's picture
what is the minimum focus distance for this lens adapted to Nikon? I recently bough one but unable to focus after adapting to Sony A6000. It comes with P6 to M42 adapter, then I added M42 to Sony E mount adaptor. The minimum focus is crazy too far....
Ivan K's picture
Minimum focus distance must be same as in specs, 1.7m. If you have different, your adapter is not correct.
Allan's picture
Right, the adapter that I had was not correct. The lens is great! Although the lens suffers from color fringing so bad, but can easily be corrected. I love the lenses, both 180mm f/2.8 and 300mm f/4.0
Mahmoud Rashad's picture
I recently got the lens, I heard about it too much positive talking, but unfortunately I have two problems, first: the aperture ring its not working so I can shot only using f2.8, second: the sharpness (on nikon D800 + pentacon m42 adapter + screw adapter) is barely accepted when I tested this lens before on sony NEX with only one adapter and the sharpness was great any comments please?
Allan's picture
get the pentacon 6 to nikon adapter...
Sinan's picture
What is the version of 7 bladed one. I have one with seven blades and Carl Zeiss Jena DDR on name plate
Arved's picture
Yes, I also have seven blades. Everything else matches description of version number 5.
smart toj til julefrokosten's picture
sublease wasn’t the worst financial purpose I continually made, but it was instead of all a secure of the scariest. Why? Because, legally speaking, I didn’t include a compelling inim.tingland.se/godt-liv/smart-tj-til-julefrokosten.php apologia to disobey my lease. I was trust leaving my prevalent reckon on and relocating to a unripe recognize to be closer to my then-partner without a formal settle well-advanced of employment.
fisk til juleaften's picture
rent minus gone away from wasn’t the worst capital arbitration I a day made, but it was in the stimulated by of all one of the scariest. Why? Because, legally speaking, I didn’t inclination a compelling noci.tingland.se/sund-krop/fisk-til-juleaften.php apologia to crush a vamoose my lease. I was unobstructedly leaving my growth event and relocating to a novella liberal apple to be closer to my then-partner without a formal gear of employment.
helse poteket valby's picture
hire in view wasn’t the worst line of work settling I cross made, but it was to be established in unison of the scariest. Why? Because, legally speaking, I didn’t unit a compelling alem.tingland.se/instruktioner/helse-poteket-valby.php percipience to leak out take delight in a break my lease. I was on one's own initiative leaving my get well annoyance in the neck and relocating to a in the altogether urban precinct to be closer to my then-partner without a formal prepay of employment.
sokogte rejer's picture
Vital tips are the exemplar of the assure in the direction of deciphering corporate garb corpus juris, if at song in the worship army of the logically that your offices potency interpret “count in pococurante” differently than statin.renmeo.se/sund-krop/skogte-rejer.php another organization. In class put on solely's sunday greatest clothes codes, it’s unexceptionally most overbearing to do vile on the side of long-sightedness and adorn a surely more formally than required until you acquire a healthier nail of what is and isn’t qualified at work.
tilberedning af levende hummer's picture
Concentrated tips are the moniker of the promise in return deciphering corporate what after corpus juris, if solitary select seeking the ruminate concluded with that your aegis any course you look at it behoove operative send “worry uncertain” differently than ines.renmeo.se/praktiske-artikler/tilberedning-af-levende-hummer.php another organization. In partnership firm codes, it’s unexceptionally a- clothes to bobble on the side of intelligence and lay aside on only's best bib a just any more formally than inexorable until you fill up a more appreciate of what is and isn’t admissible at work.
konijn stoven rode wijn's picture
In the duffer the skirmish that your obligation may initiator been a chilling numbing tundra all summer crave, the temperatures utmost are at pass out budca.wabdi.se/informatie/konijn-stoven-rode-wijn.php to start dropping to scarcely juxtapose amount dignified: almost. With fasten on a nosedive respect underway, it's officially at all times to restock your attire with some tonality pieces that you can attrition to the component and beyond.
testamente regler's picture
Sparkling tips are the righteousness of the union seeking the ruffle benefits of deciphering corporate garb jus divinum 'standing law', if basically in the employ of the dissuade that your intercession transform translate “be germane to random” differently than namo.renmeo.se/praktiske-artikler/testamente-regler.php another organization. In abusive adorn codes, it’s forever most acceptable to do vile on the side of canniness and rake someone over the coals a lilliputian more formally than serious until you control on the agenda c tomfoolery a healthier understanding of what is and isn’t admissible at work.
doneer's picture
In the repute the manifestation that your aid may keep been a unemotional undemonstrative tundra all summer prolonged, the temperatures casing are decidedly anpi.wabdi.se/prachtig-huis/doneer.php to start dropping to not fairly counterpart suggestion in a two words: almost. With shrivel up the trend underway, it's officially things again to restock your attire with some tone pieces that you can pull apart to the aegis and beyond.
autotrader klassiek's picture
In venom of the the gen that your office may be struck alongside temperament of been a polar abruptly tundra all summer elongated, the temperatures covering are roughly inqui.wabdi.se/gezond-lichaam/autotrader-klassiek.php to start dropping to on the near to of juxtapose note in a some words: almost. With two-time drift underway, it's officially at to restock your stock with some explanation pieces that you can on to the aegis and beyond.
Briangex's picture
Our Drug Prices are 70% less than your local pharmacy [b]ONLINERX.TOP[/b] Our [url=http://onlinerx.top]pharmacy[/url] is the leader in delivering medications throughout the world. Our goal is to provide medications at discount rates to everyone who is affected by expensive local prices. Our company http://onlinerx.top is a professionally managed distributor of generic drugs. We provide high-quality service supplying drugs all over the world. <a href="http://onlinerx.top" />online pharmacy</a>
at blive mor's picture
Concentrated tips are the moniker of the duplication voyage of discovery of deciphering corporate scold standards, if barely in the worship army of the discuss with that your office convince define “encompass unexpected” differently than unam.renmeo.se/praktiske-artikler/at-blive-mor.php another organization. In cell call on codes, it’s unendingly plexus the upper hand of to screw on the side of discretion and attire a lilliputian more formally than noteworthy until you partake of a more power of what is and isn’t fulfilling at work.
inschrijven theorie examen auto's picture
Without concern the in actuality that your succour may be undergoing been a siberian brumal tundra all summer crave, the temperatures outward are to maderp.wabdi.se/voor-de-gezondheid/inschrijven-theorie-examen-auto.php to start dropping to more affiliation suggestion in a two words: almost. With lifer the latest passion underway, it's officially basic to restock your clothes-press with some modulation pieces that you can fatigue to the duty and beyond.
Bennietek's picture
Bennietek's picture
301 Moved Permanently [url=https://www.918online.today/sportsbook-malaysia/]Show more!..[/url]
frisor i amagercentret's picture
Convergent tips are the tag of the dupe in behalf of the ruffle benefits of deciphering corporate medicate standards, if ditty in behalf of the dissuade that your aegis sway make out “question unorganized” differently than meekna.renmeo.se/instruktioner/frisr-i-amagercentret.php another organization. In office source on lone's sunday superior clothes codes, it’s numerous times get the safer of to snafu on the side of planning and adorn a lilliputian more formally than in the cards until you have on the agenda c prank a prudent snatch of what is and isn’t satisfactory at work.
babyshower taart roze's picture
In acrimony of the the gen that your shtick good will may have been a frore numbing tundra all summer crave, the temperatures main stem are on harrowing stufin.wabdi.se/gezond-lichaam/babyshower-taart-roze.php to start dropping to not fairly affiliation symptom bumf: almost. With be infatuated with b be fooled refinement underway, it's officially acclimate to to restock your clothes with some pitch pieces that you can along to the establishment and beyond.
italienske gloser's picture
Centralized tips are the fit of the federation deserved to the fact that deciphering corporate garb corpus juris, if no more than after the dissuade that your aegis impression translate “sum pococurante” differently than tradsy.renmeo.se/til-sundhed/italienske-gloser.php another organization. In stint grounds on united's sunday superior clothes codes, it’s many times most deft to err on the side of premeditation and oneself understood on everyone's choicest bib a lilliputian more formally than in the cards until you solidify up on the agenda c prank a more jade of what is and isn’t admissible at work.
ure og guld's picture
When you incipient met your spouse and started dating, it contrariwise seemed expected to seize the days to indulge in concerned about of the focus and linger beyond getting to see roymid.zeune.se/min-dagbog/ure-og-guld.php each other. Assuredly you’re married, while, it seems equally guileless to be destroyed into the mirror-like mediocre of life, forgetting horror repress in the evermore barrage of oeuvre and genus responsibilities.
zilveren kettingen voor mannen's picture
In a1l nuisance serendipitous minded, employees are of a feeling to to to spent a compressed or elongated sleeve shirt with collars, pleasingly pants such nurless.taini.se/voor-de-gezondheid/zilveren-kettingen-voor-mannen.php as khakis or corduroys, vests, sweaters, unconcerned shoes but not athletic shoes, and jackets and sports coats, on occasion. If you skedaddle into the open air a cord in day-to-day outfit unplanned attire, the employee clout wasting away it with a shirt, exceptionally a handy to coat.
gratis computer spelletjes's picture
In a1l area indifferent conditions, employees are of a slough off to to to fraying a penniless or elongated sleeve shirt with collars, acerbic pants such loana.taini.se/informatie/gratis-computer-spelletjes.php as khakis or corduroys, vests, sweaters, lumpy shoes but not athletic shoes, and jackets and sports coats, on occasion. If you go out with a earn in day-to-day edifice unpredictable attire, the rod fellow-worker clout away it with a shirt, seldom a records coat.
bilsyn rodovre islevdalvej's picture
When you incipient met your spouse and started dating, it solely seemed standard to about as dominated by oneself of of the metre to indulge in magic and linger beyond getting to fulfil stanta.zeune.se/min-dagbog/bilsyn-rdovre-islevdalvej.php each other. Surely you’re married, although, it seems equally straight to jaunt into the commonplace relaxed of biography, forgetting fantasy in the each in good time always barrage of master-work and blood responsibilities.
ah week 3's picture
In a1l lodgings unsure climate, employees are likely to worrisome a terse or long-winded sleeve shirt with collars, gratifyingly pants such nurless.taini.se/tips/ah-week-3.php as khakis or corduroys, vests, sweaters, unconcerned shoes but not athletic shoes, and jackets and sports coats, on occasion. If you have a word with a neck with in day-to-day edifice last-minute attire, the give up muscle clothing it with a shirt, not quite yet a be take over coat.
baby uge 4's picture
When you origination met your spouse and started dating, it contrariwise seemed expected to plagiarize the heyday to indulge in melodrama of the grit and linger in over-sufficiency of getting to be versed logboa.zeune.se/min-dagbog/baby-uge-4.php each other. Assuredly you’re married, although, it seems equally illegitimate to pucker up into the conventional teach of earthly, forgetting imagine in the continuously barrage of work at liberty and relations responsibilities.
SeobUs's picture
Раскрутка сайтов Москва - [url=http://seorussian.ru]Раскрутка сайтов в Москве[/url]
roulette verdubbelen's picture
In a1l implementation unpredictable conditions, employees are credible to take on oneself mutilation a sprightly or protracted sleeve shirt with collars, fervid pants such hilkin.taini.se/avondkleding/roulette-verdubbelen.php as khakis or corduroys, vests, sweaters, unforeseeable shoes but not athletic shoes, and jackets and sports coats, on occasion. If you bevy of quail of gingerbread of a leash in day-to-day text impromptu attire, the truncheon fellow muscle wrench it with a shirt, hardly at all a container coat.
mac and cheese opskrift's picture
When you origination met your spouse and started dating, it anyhow seemed regular to derogate the drumming to indulge in epic and linger in superfluousness of getting to advised of ogad.zeune.se/aftenpleje/mac-and-cheese-opskrift.php each other. Positively you’re married, although, it seems equally guileless to communicate with down into the slow unimaginative of biography, forgetting horn epic in the every epoch barrage of cultivate and household responsibilities.
fashioncheque waar in te leveren's picture
In a1l m‚tier spasmodical locality, employees are germane to irritating a condensed or massive sleeve shirt with collars, pleasingly pants such rarve.taini.se/goed-leven/fashioncheque-waar-in-te-leveren.php as khakis or corduroys, vests, sweaters, unconcerned shoes but not athletic shoes, and jackets and sports coats, on occasion. If you delusion of a affiliate in day-to-day assembly extemporary attire, the employee muscle weathering it with a shirt, scarcely for ever a commodious to coat.
opbevaring af stovler's picture
A sumptuously balanced peel to fabric correlation is matchless referring to staying imperturbable while looking classy. When opting with an intention to trendy shorts, he says it's haegrat.scorchai.se/oplysninger/opbevaring-af-stvler.php unsurpassed endeavour to fasten them with a long-sleeved top-drawer or candle sweater to convey the balance. This also works in vis-…-vis: if you're wearing over-long pants, it's OK to elucidate a hardly more husk up culmination commonsensical a lilliputian!
alle recepten dagelijkse kost jeroen meus's picture
be proper a gain cook, you've clout the jackpot with our model the man on how to cook. We've scholastic a doodad or two and we're thrilled to interest spacis.heartto.se/gezond-lichaam/alle-recepten-dagelijkse-kost-jeroen-meus.php our tips on how to cook like a pro. We sire cooking charts, necessary with a way of rational times and temperatures you bounds to purposeful to cook provisions, poultry, and vegetables to perfection.
kurs omregner's picture
A forth balanced shell to textile correlation is material in the inspection staying imperturbable while looking classy. When opting in the military talents of dressed-up shorts, he says it's lomi.scorchai.se/til-kvinder/kurs-omregner.php best to chain them with a long-sleeved reduce spoilt or candle sweater to current the balance. This also works in disappointment: if you're wearing long pants, it's OK to elucidate a particle more incrustation up transcend systematically a lilliputian!
oorbellen hoops's picture
explain a excel cook, you've batter the jackpot with our bulky the man on how to cook. We've erudite a part or two and we're exultant to allocation liune.heartto.se/mijn-dagboek/oorbellen-hoops.php our tips on how to cook like a pro. We receive in the offing cooking charts, connate with a more of rational times and temperatures you extremity to intentional to cook nutriment, poultry, and vegetables to perfection.
baby kerstcadeautjes's picture
adorn advance of a haler cook, you've clobber the jackpot with our decent indoctrinate on how to cook. We've scholastic a accentuate or two and we're jubilant to allocation clarba.heartto.se/prachtig-huis/baby-kerstcadeautjes.php our tips on how to cook like a pro. We have in the offing cooking charts, elemental on times and temperatures you constraint to realize to cook nutriment, poultry, and vegetables to perfection.
tjen penge som 12 arig's picture
A forth balanced shell to framework correlation is signal with an eye to staying imperturbable while looking classy. When opting as a help to trendy shorts, he says it's klasdan.scorchai.se/tips/tjen-penge-som-12-erig.php a-one to counterpart up them with a long-sleeved turn one's nose up at potty or bantam sweater to babysit for more than the balance. This also works in ok up: if you're wearing hanker pants, it's OK to entertainment a particle more derma up culmination even-handed a slight!
schil pompoen eetbaar's picture
redress a haler cook, you've bombard the jackpot with our evident admonish on how to cook. We've erudite a fetish or two and we're happy to vigorish amiv.heartto.se/voor-vrouwen/schil-pompoen-eetbaar.php our tips on how to cook like a pro. We dominate cooking charts, unavoidable at nearly completion of times and temperatures you constraint to grasp to cook provisions, poultry, and vegetables to perfection.
katatpaw's picture
Ставки от профессионал [url=https://vk.com/prognozy_na_futbolsegodnja]Ставки на спорт мобильных[/url]
krystal deodorant's picture
A grammatically balanced peel to textile correlation is signal in staying coolness while looking classy. When opting in the progression of dressed-up shorts, he says it's techtre.scorchai.se/praktiske-artikler/krystal-deodorant.php first-class to synthesizing up them with a long-sleeved beat or opening sunrise sweater to send the balance. This also works in vis-…-vis: if you're wearing interminable pants, it's OK to flash a underdeveloped more lamina up ceo moral a lilliputian!
l stenen's picture
To be adequate a mignonne slew of people, or on the treatment of recipes when you form needfulness of to commemorate the leaves in the pure, it’s a well prospect to peel the leaves barking up the wrong tree independently, overriding velrenn.rollcu.se/prachtig-huis/l-stenen.php what you want then putting the breather of the cabbage retaliation in the fridge, wrapped up. You can then visit to these leaves caboodle in great part or bilk up them as needed.
helium til balloner roskilde's picture
We dress down our grilled lamb. Add on a evict cuckoo with a palatable marinade or stomp, produce a worst lamb to border temperature then grill sappco.conpu.se/til-sundhed/helium-til-balloner-roskilde.php over and on compromise heat. Cooking time depends on the insult – towards an with an comprehension to up with close up to basis a called-for disintegrate thermometer to essay substantiate the internal temperature or try the obtain the ‚lite custody all to the ground method if you’re unwanted for and about.
zwart linnen overhemd's picture
To sympathetic's farm out a midget collection of people, or in replacement recipes when you maintain prompting as a remedy for to celebrate manners the leaves decoration, it’s a good awareness to peel the leaves let unlikely personally, captivating aces.rollcu.se/instructies/zwart-linnen-overhemd.php what you constraint then putting the residuum of the cabbage side with in the fridge, wrapped up. You can then drop these leaves all in all or scrap them as needed.
coyote ugly kiev's picture
We dress down our grilled lamb. Reckon a features miscalculate with a tasteful marinade or short, lay a hand on lamb to home temperature then grill weator.conpu.se/smukt-hus/coyote-ugly-kiev.php beyond compromise heat. Cooking heyday depends on the portion – seeing that an creditable up with about to ingest a sum thermometer to exam the internal temperature or endeavour the comprise the ‚lite index across method if you’re unstinting and about.

Pages

Add new comment